Stones

I look around
I see everyone that I
have,
do,
and will know
I see them all falling
no
sinking.

I look around
some stone others
others are stoned
some as thick as a stone
some carrying burdens like a stone
but we all can sink like a stone.

I look around and each stone has a feather
somewhere inside
when we sink
like a stone
we sink with a lightness and gentleness
that is cast in stone held inside
and only when we break open the cold exterior
do we fall as we are meant to
while those content with what they see on the outside fall faster and farther.

Leave a Reply

